News Article

U.S. Supreme Court Agrees to Latest Trump Travel Ban

The United States Supreme Court on December 4, 2017 allowed President Trump’s third and latest travel ban against citizens of six Muslim-majority countries, namely Chad, Iran Libya, Somalia, Syria, and Yemen – in addition to already banned citizens of North Korea and Venezuela, from entering the U.S. despite having pending case hearings in lower courts. The Supreme Court decided against two injunctions imposed by lower courts that had partially blocked the ban, thus allowing the travel ban to take effect. However, two lower Federal courts in San Francisco and Richmond, Virginia will still continue hearings regarding the Trump travel ban and whether it will be enforced in its entirety or not. In any case, the ban will take effect, albeit partially, which the Trump Administration says is essential in preventing terrorism in the U.S. committed by Islamic militants.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.