News Article

Trump Administration Revises Visa Waiver Rules

The Trump Administration on December 15, 2017 issued new rules revising the U.S. Visa Waiver Program (VWP) for reasons of security. The changes include mandating 38 participating countries to use U.S. counterterrorism database to check travelers transiting through their borders. Another change is for participating countries to conduct public awareness campaigns when the designated threshold rate of 2 percent of its citizens overstay in the U.S. Currently, the penalty for citizens of countries participating in the VWP is the prohibition of future visa-free travel to the U.S.

The VWP enables the citizens of the participating countries to travel and stay in the U.S. visa-free for no more than 90 days by merely obtaining a travel authorization.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.