News Article

DHS Undertakes Additional and Enhanced Vetting Procedures for Incoming Refugees

Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Secretary Kirstjen Nielsen announced on Monday that she ordered the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) to impose additional security measures on incoming refugees from the 11 “high-risk” countries identified by the Trump Administration in the past few months, namely: Egypt, Iran Iraq, Libya, Mali, North Korea, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen. The additional and enhanced security procedures include more in-depth interviews of U.S. refugee applicants and their family members; increased screening of biographical data and social media; and enhanced information sharing between agencies to vet refugees’ backgrounds.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.