EB-4 Special Immigrant Workers

Employment-Based, Fourth Preference (EB-4) Visa

What is the EB-4 visa?
The EB-4 visa is an immigrant visa that is available to “special immigrants,” which includes religious workers, physicians, armed forces members, and others.

What are the requirements for an EB-4 visa?
To secure an EB-4 visa, you must be a special immigrant, which is limited to the following people:

  • Religious Workers
  • Broadcasters
  • Iraqi/Afghan Translators
  • Iraqis Who Have Assisted the United States
  • International Organization Employees
  • Physicians
  • Armed Forces Members
  • Panama Canal Zone Employees
  • Retired NATO-6 employees
  • Spouses and Children of Deceased NATO-6 employees

What strategic considerations should I keep in mind?

  • EB-4 visa per country limits have been reached for fiscal year 2016 for special immigrants from India, Mexico, El Salvador, Guatemala, and Honduras.
  • Your employer generally must file the EB-4 petition for you. However, in some cases, you, may petition on your own behalf.
  • Your spouse may also be admitted to the United States. Your children, unmarried under the age of 21, may be admitted to the United States.

The EB-4 employment-based category is for special immigrants. This includes religious workers, broadcasters, Iraqi/Afghan translators, Iraqis who have assisted the United States, international organization employees, physicians, armed forces members, Panama Canal Zone employees, retired NATO-6 employees and spouses and children of deceased NATO-6 employees.

How do I qualify for this visa?
To petition for an employment-based fourth preference immigrant, your employer must file a Form I-360, Petition for Amerasian, Widow(er), or Special Immigrant. However, there are certain situations where you, the employee, may self-petition on your own behalf. Please review the form instructions to see if you are eligible to self petition and what required supporting evidence needs to be included.